Home » DepEd » School opening for SY 2020-2021 moved to September in GCQ areas
Are you looking for something?

School opening for SY 2020-2021 moved to September in GCQ areas

School opening for SY 2020-2021 moved to September in GCQ areas

President Rodrigo Duterte has approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) to move the school opening for the school year 2020-2021 to September in areas placed under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) due to the coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic.

Some restrictions are eased in areas under GCQ.

In the public address aired Friday morning, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque read the recommendations of the IATF-EID in response to the coronavirus pandemic—among of which was the opening of schools in September.

“Iyong option po sa low-risk to moderate areas na buksan by industry consider for 100 percent closure maski po low to moderate risk consider for 100 percent closure pa rin dahil po ang mga transmitters ay kabataan mula edad 0 to 20: lahat ng eskwelahan, i-consider po ang late opening sa Setyembre except po sa online learning,” Roque said.

Provinces placed under GCQ are:

  • Negros Occidental
  • Negros Oriental
  • Siquijor
  • Davao del Sur
  • Davao Oriental
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Lanao del Sur
  • Apayao
  • Mountain Province
  • Ifugao
  • Kalinga
  • Ilocos Sur
  • Batanes
  • Quirino
  • Aurora
  • Palawan
  • Romblon
  • Camarines Norte
  • Sorsogon
  • Masbate
  • Guimaras
  • Bohol
  • Biliran
  • Eastern Samar
  • Leyte
  • Northern Samar
  • Southern Leyte
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Bukidnon
  • Camiguin
  • Davao Occidental
  • Sarangani
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Dinagat Island
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Basilan
  • Sulu

Asked if Duterte has adopted the said recommendation, Roque responded to the affirmative.

The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-MED) according to Presidential Spokesperson recommended a second extension of the enhanced community quarantine until May 15 in areas considered high risk.

Harry Roque said Enhanced Community Quarantine, shall remain Metro Manila, Region III, IV-A, and other areas where COVID-19 infection is high (ECQ). 
The IATF, according to Roque recommends that Enhanced Community Quarantine will continue in several areas including National Capital Region until May 15, 2020.

Areas Under Enhanced Community Quarantine:

  • National Capital Region
  • Benguet
  • Pangasinan
  • Bataan
  • Bulacan
  • Nueva Ecija
  • Pampanga
  • Tarlac
  • Zambales
  • Batangas
  • Laguna
  • Cavite
  • Rizal
  • Quezon
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Albay
  • Catanduanes
  • Antique
  • Iloilo
  • Cebu
  • Cebu City
  • Davao Del Norte
  • Davao City

The Department of Education (DepEd) earlier said it is exploring the option of moving the School Opening from June to August due to COVID-19 concerns.


TEACH PINAS is not affiliated, associated, endorsed by, or in any way officially connected to any government organization. All the information on this website is published in good faith and for general information purpose only. We, the admins/staff, do not claim any ownership of some content posted here unless otherwise stated. If you own rights to those and do not wish them to appear on this site, please contact us via e-mail: [email protected] and we will take necessary actions ASAP. TEACH PINAS does not make any warranties about the completeness, reliability, and accuracy of this information. Any action you take upon the information you find on this website (, is strictly at your own risk. TEACH PINAS will not be liable for any losses and/or damages in connection with the use of our website. Read more...
Enter your email address below to get updates via email:

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

error: Sorry, content is protected!